AY 2016/2017 End of Year Report for Academic Policies Committee Submitted by Sue C. Escobar

1. Membership

Voting Members

Sue Escobar, Chair (Criminal Justice, HHS)

James Fox (Library)

Jean Gonsier-Gerdin (Teaching Credentials,
EDU)

Amber Gonzalez (Undergraduate Studies, EDU)

Megan Heinicke (Psychology, SSIS)

Jacqueline Irwin (Communication Studies, A&L)

Yang Li (Marketing & Supply Chain Management,
CBA)

Matt Schmidtlein, (Geography, NSM)

Tara Sharpp (Nursing, HHS)

Ex Officio Non-voting Members [based on the Committee's standing rules membership]

Julian Heather (Faculty Senate)

Dennis Geyer (Office of the University

Registrar)

Gabriel Hernandez (University Staff Assembly)

Don Hunt (Division of Student Affairs)

Affairs)

Marcellene Watson-Derbigny (Division of Student Affairs)

Affairs)

Don Hunt (Division of Student Affairs)

Affairs

Abraham Mendoza (Associated Students, Inc.)

Attachment: FS 16/17-189

2. Meetings

The Academic Policies Committee meets on the 1st & 3rd Fridays 2:00-3:30pm and convened on the following dates:

Fall 2016	Spring 2017
September 2 nd	February 3 rd
September 16 th	February 17 th
October 7 th	March 3 rd
October 21 st (cancelled)	March 17 th
November 4 th (cancelled)	April 7 th
November 18 th (cancelled)	April 21 st
December 2 nd	May 5 th

3. Summary of Action in the AY 2016/2017 Faculty Senate

The following items were acted upon by the Faculty Senate in AY 2016/2107:

• FS 16/17-80/APC/GSPC/EX Drop Policy

• FS 16/17-138/APC/EX Student Grade Appeal Process, Amendment of

In addition, the Committee did the following:

• Priority Registration Policy, Amendment of

APC received a referral from the Executive Committee on December 1, 2016 with the request that APC review the mandates of SB 412: the CA Promise and determine whether or not campus policies needed to be updated. The Committee began discussing the central issue, SB 412: CA Promise Program and how to implement on our campus. The Committee determined that the Priority Registration Policy (1991/92) would need to be amended in order to accommodate the CA Promise Program students who are required to receive some kind of priority registration in the effort to provide opportunities to students wishing to graduate in 2 (transfer students) or 4 years (first time freshmen). The Committee has continued to work on the policy throughout the Spring 2017 semester, receiving input from the Faculty Policies Committee (FPC) on issues of mandated advising for this population of students. The Committee finalized the amendments to the Priority Registration Policy and have asked Chair Escobar to forward it to the Executive Committee.

• Academic Honesty Policy, Amendment of.

APC received a referral from the Executive Committee on March 6, 2017 with a request that the Committee work with Matt O'Connor, Student Conduct Administrator, and Jill Peterson, University Counsel, to address concerns raised and problems identified by University Counsel with respect to the legalistic nature of the language and a general lack of understanding among faculty and students regarding the reporting and disciplinary processes, respectively. The Committee began reviewing the Academic Honesty Policy, the language and requirements in EO 1098 (for compliance) as well as other campus's examples of cheating and/or plagiarism policies. On April 21st, the Committee invited Matt O'Connor to the meeting in order to answer questions and provide additional insights into some of the concerns that he and University Counsel have seen and continue to see with respect to the policy and its procedures. The Committee reviewed a draft of the revised policy that M. O'Connor had provided to Chair Escobar. The Committee will continue to work on this policy revision in the next academic year, 2017-18.

4. Summary of Anticipated Action in the AY 2017/2018 Faculty Senate

As Chair, I anticipate the following items will be discussed by the Academic Policies Committee in AY 2017/2018:

- Priority Registration Policy, Amendment of
- Academic Honesty Policy, Amendment of.

Respectfully submitted by:	- <u></u>
	Sue C. Escobar, Committee Chair, 2016-17 AY